Is this a spam website identity theft?

This post was written by admin on December 8, 2008
Posted Under: Security
Foxes asked:


http://elections.foxnews.com/index.html

Asks for signup and holds…

not real fox news site.

The fact that fox news tracks back to this makes me feel better.

The register is on upper right or left.

https://secure.foxnews.com/register.html

I questioned it when the registration hung three times, no matter with firefox or internet explorer..and many of the links were broken..

Thanks.. I feel better now..

Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google

Reader Comments

ya this is so i prefer you not to log in it otherwise it may get you into big virus problem

#1 
Written By belal on December 9th, 2008 @ 7:29 am

Foxnews.com is owned and operated by Fox News.

#2 
Written By You did what? RTFM! on December 12th, 2008 @ 3:58 am

Go to fox news and click on ‘Politics’. This is the url it gives:

I can’t see anything about sign ups, but maybe it depends how many times you visit

#3 
Written By Willy on December 13th, 2008 @ 8:11 pm

Looks pretty genuine… I didn’t get asked for a sign-up either.

Try going on the main FoxNews.com website and click on the Politics link, the same URL appears as you have quoted in your question (check the address and you’ll see what I mean)

Don’t forget that as the presidential elections progress, a lot of folk will have a lot to say, so hits to sites like Fox will be above average, this may explain why your registration hung…

#4 
Written By Baldbloke on December 17th, 2008 @ 6:12 am

I think it is legit.

it goes back to fox news.

Scary these days.

Not sure I would give REAL contact info out. I signed up as Jane Doe and am getting plenty of mail ha ha ha.

#5 
Written By drtravelfoxes on December 18th, 2008 @ 11:31 pm

Add a Comment

required, use real name
required, will not be published
optional, your blog address